Skip to content Skip to navigation

An Ember In The Ashes - Sabaa Tahir



Publisher: Razorbill

An Ember In The Ashes

An Ember in the Ashes
"Laia is a Scholar living under the iron-fisted rule of the Martial Empire. When her brother is arrested for treason, Laia goes undercover as a slave at the empire's greatest military academy in exchange for assistance from rebel Scholars who claim that they will help to save her brother from execution"--

See details

Added to your shopping bag
Ship in the U.A.E. within 2-3 business days
Our shipping terms
Collect in store within 2 hours
Free Shipping over AED 350


 (a) Deliveries are made between Saturday and Thursday and will be undertaken by a third party appointed by Virgin for and on behalf of Virgin. Virgin makes every effort to dispatch Products on time. If the ordered Products are not delivered within the time period Virgin specified in the confirmation email, please contact Virgin’s Customer Services quoting the order reference contained in your order confirmation email.

 (b) Delivery occurs when the ordered Products are delivered to the delivery address you specified when placing your order. At this point, responsibility for loss, breakage and damage passes to you. Ownership of Products purchased passes to you when payment is received by Virgin in full. You will be asked to sign for acceptance of the Products which will note that the Products are correct and have been received in good condition.

 (c) If you are not at the delivery address, Virgin will assume that any adults that are present at the delivery address are authorized by you to take delivery of the Products that you have ordered. If above criteria are not met or if there is no one at the delivery address, Virgin will not leave the Products at the delivery address. Virgin will contact you to arrange an alternative delivery time.

 (d) Please note that the delivery people will only deliver the Products to your front door.

Virgin does not deliver to any residence outside of the United Arab Emirates.

Product details

INSTANT "NEW YORK TIMES" BESTELLER Perfect for fans of "Red Queen" and Marissa Meyer s "Lunar Chronicles" series, "An Ember in the Ashes, "is the first book in an exhilarating fantasy adventure series about the power of hope in the face of oppression. Debut novelist Sabaa Tahir tells the thrilling, heart-wrenching story of two unforgettable characters willing to sacrifice everything for the chance to write their own destinies. In a world inspired by ancient Rome and defined by brutality, seventeen-year old Laia has grown up with one rule for survival: Never challenge the Empire. But when Laia s brother Darin is arrested for treason, she leaves behind everything she knows, risking her life to try and save him. She enlists help from the rebels whose extensive underground network may lead to Darin. Their help comes with a price, though. Laia must infiltrate the Empire s greatest military academy as a spy. Elias is the Empire s finest soldier and its most unwilling one. Since childhood, he has trained to become one of the Masks, deadly fighters who ravage and destroy in the name of the Empire. But Elias is secretly planning a dangerous escape from the very tyranny he has sworn to enforce. Thrown together by chance and united by their hatred of the Empire, Laia and Elias will soon discover that their fates are intertwined and that their choices may change the destiny of the entire Empire. "



Number of Pages 464


This novel is a harrowing, haunting reminder of what it means to be human and how hope might be kindled in the midst of oppression and fear. "The Washington Post" ["An Ember in the Ashes"] thrusts its readers into a world marred by violence and oppression, yet does so with simple prose that can offer moments of loveliness in its clarity. This complexity makes"Ember"a worthy novel andone as brave as its characters. "The New York Times Book Review" Sabaa Tahir spins a captivating, heart-pounding fantasy. "Us Weekly" "An Ember in the Ashes"mixes"The Hunger Games"with"Game of Thrones..."and adds a dash of"Romeo and Juliet." "The Hollywood Reporter" Blew me away...This book is dark, complex, vivid, and romantic expect to be completely transported. Fast-paced, well-structured andfull of twists and turns, "An Ember in the Ashes"is an evocative debut that has left me invested in knowing what happens next. NPR Once you get caught up in the story, it s addictive, and there s no way you can put it downbefore you figure out what happens to the characters you have fallen for over the course of the 400 some-odd pages. So I didn t. Bustle One thing I can say for sure: this is a page-turner. There comes a moment when it's impossible to put it down. Sabaa Tahir is a strong writer, but most of all, she's a great storyteller. "The""Huffington Post" This epic fantasy set in the Martial Empire has it all danger and violence, secrets and lies, strong characters and forbidden romance and a touch of the supernatural. "The Atlanta Journal-Constitution" A setting inspired by ancient Rome; a fierce battle for freedom in the face of tyranny; anda villain who makes Cersei Lannister and Dolores Umbridge look like a pair of pathetic amateurs..."An Ember in the Ashes"is at thetop of our must-read listfor 2015. Be prepared to be blown away by this fantasy-thriller-adventure. "Girls Life" "An Ember in the Ashes" is a book that's too good to put down. "RedEye" Perfect for fans of Maggie Stievater's"The Scorpio Races"or Sarah Maas's Throne of Glass series The book is already set to be a film, which will be EPIC! * Tahir sdeft, polished debutalternates between two very different perspectives on the same brutal world, deepening both in the contrast. Ina tale brimming with political intrigue and haunted by supernatural forces, the true tension comes from watching Elias and Laia struggle to decide where their loyalties lie. "Publishers Weekly," starred review Tahir s world-building is wonderfully detailed and the setting is an unusual one for fantasy novels. All of her characters, even minor ones, are fully realized....For fans of"Game of Thrones"and of Melina Marchetta s"Finnikin of the Rock." "School Library Journal" An original, well-constructed fantasy world...truly engaging. "Kirkus Reviews" Anepic fantasy debutabout an orphan fighting for her family and a soldier fighting for his freedom. It s a story that s literally burning to be told. First-time novelist Tahir has written an ambitious sword-and-sand adventure story that is notable for its suspense and scope. "Booklist" Here'sone of the year's most anticipatedyoung-adult debuts. I was so engrossed with this book that I missed a connecting flight.If that doesn t convince you to read"An Ember in the Ashes," I don t know what will.An explosive, heartbreaking, epic debutthat will keep you glued to the pages. I hope the world s ready for Sabaa Tahir. Marie Lu, "New York Times"bestselling author of"Legend" With"An Ember in the Ashes," Sabaa Tahir shows us light in the darkness, hope in a world of despair, and the human spirit reaching for greatness in difficult times. #1"New York Times"bestselling author Brandon Sanderson "An Ember in the Ashes"isa spectacular page turnerthat asks readers to consider how far they d go to save the ones they love.Sabaa Tahir is the next superstar in young adult fictionand her debut is as cinematic as"Gladiator"and as high-stakes as"Game of Thrones." Holly Goldberg Sloan, "New York Times"bestselling author of"Counting by 7s" A heart-pounding story of love and loss, with the most original world-building I ve read all year. Deeply felt and deeply moving, I could not put it down. Margaret Stohl, "New York Times"bestselling co-author of"Beautiful Creatures" This electric debut is apulse-pounding action-packed"Romeo and Juliet"story in a richly imagined world with a great twist and heroic characters you ll root for and won t stop thinking about. Melissa de la Cruz, "New York Times"bestselling author of"Frozen"and"The Ring and the Crown""