Skip to content Skip to navigation

Kindness Of Enemies - Leila Aboulela



Publisher: Orion Publishing Co

Kindness Of Enemies

The Kindness of Enemies
For fans of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and THE NARROW ROAD TO THE DEEP NORTH, a sweeping new novel from the three times Orange Prize longlisted, Scottish Book Award and Caine Prize winner Leila Aboulela.

See details

Added to your shopping bag
Free Shipping over AED 350


 (a) Deliveries are made between Saturday and Thursday and will be undertaken by a third party appointed by Virgin for and on behalf of Virgin. Virgin makes every effort to dispatch Products on time. If the ordered Products are not delivered within the time period Virgin specified in the confirmation email, please contact Virgin’s Customer Services quoting the order reference contained in your order confirmation email.

 (b) Delivery occurs when the ordered Products are delivered to the delivery address you specified when placing your order. At this point, responsibility for loss, breakage and damage passes to you. Ownership of Products purchased passes to you when payment is received by Virgin in full. You will be asked to sign for acceptance of the Products which will note that the Products are correct and have been received in good condition.

 (c) If you are not at the delivery address, Virgin will assume that any adults that are present at the delivery address are authorized by you to take delivery of the Products that you have ordered. If above criteria are not met or if there is no one at the delivery address, Virgin will not leave the Products at the delivery address. Virgin will contact you to arrange an alternative delivery time.

 (d) Please note that the delivery people will only deliver the Products to your front door.

Virgin does not deliver to any residence outside of the United Arab Emirates.

Product details

Natasha lives a lonely life, adrift in Scotland and torn between two identities. Born into a Muslim background but desperate to assimilate, she longs for a place to call home. Then she meets Oz. Oz is charismatic and passionate, a star student at the university where Natasha teaches. As their bond deepens, stories from Natasha's research come to life - tales of forbidden love, traded hostages, grieving mothers, and the Court of the Tsar. But conflict emerges far closer to home as the police begin to investigate Oz. When they accuse him of terrorism, Natasha stands to lose everything she has fought to build ...Moving, epic and beautifully written, THE KINDNESS OF ENEMIES is a story about tolerance, identity and the places we call home.

Orion Publishing Co


Number of Pages 320


The passages are arresting in their descriptiveness, with beautiful pockets of calm in which the spiritual journey, as advocated by Shamil's Sufi teacher, is explored. THE INDEPENDENT The reader flicks back and forth through time, gleaning pleasure and enlightenment through each of the doorways as they go, finishing with a head filled with different nuances on questions politicians demand we reflect upon. i newspaper Aboulela's graceful writing style makes for a pleasurable read. INDEPENDENT ON SUNDAY One of Aboulela's aims - apart from telling a fascinating story with the verve and assurance of a natural novelist - is surely to present a sympathetic picture of Islam to a western readership more accustomed to being what, for devout Muslims, is a distorted and reprehensible version of their faith. THE SCOTSMAN [A] treat - a novel that recreates the fascinating story of the rebel of the Caucasus, Imam Shamil, a 19th-century warrior who battled to defend his home against the invading Russians and united the Muslims of the region under his iconic leadership. Weaving the story of his relationship with a Georgian princess he kidnapped into a more contemporary story of mistaken terrorism, we learn much about the nature of loss, the legacy of exile and the meaning of home at a time in our world when all three are high in our minds -- Mariella Frostrup GUARDIAN, Best Books of 2015 An often intriguing story, politically relevant and historically fascinating THE HERALD