Skip to content Skip to navigation

Flying Man - Roopa Farooki



Publisher: Headline Publishing Group

Flying Man

The Flying Man
From the twice Orange Prize longlisted author, THE FLYING MAN is the story of the ultimate immigrant, a man who fits in everywhere and nowhere. Perfect for fans of Hanif Kureshi, Kamila Shamsie, Jhumpa Lahiri

See details

Added to your shopping bag
Free Shipping over AED 350


 (a) Deliveries are made between Saturday and Thursday and will be undertaken by a third party appointed by Virgin for and on behalf of Virgin. Virgin makes every effort to dispatch Products on time. If the ordered Products are not delivered within the time period Virgin specified in the confirmation email, please contact Virgin’s Customer Services quoting the order reference contained in your order confirmation email.

 (b) Delivery occurs when the ordered Products are delivered to the delivery address you specified when placing your order. At this point, responsibility for loss, breakage and damage passes to you. Ownership of Products purchased passes to you when payment is received by Virgin in full. You will be asked to sign for acceptance of the Products which will note that the Products are correct and have been received in good condition.

 (c) If you are not at the delivery address, Virgin will assume that any adults that are present at the delivery address are authorized by you to take delivery of the Products that you have ordered. If above criteria are not met or if there is no one at the delivery address, Virgin will not leave the Products at the delivery address. Virgin will contact you to arrange an alternative delivery time.

 (d) Please note that the delivery people will only deliver the Products to your front door.

Virgin does not deliver to any residence outside of the United Arab Emirates.

Product details

Meet Maqil - also known as Mike, Mehmet, Mikhail and Miguel - a chancer and charlatan. A criminally clever man who tells a good tale, trading on his charm and good looks, reinventing himself with a new identity and nationality in each successive country he makes his home, abandoning wives and children and careers in the process. He's a compulsive gambler - driven to lose at least as much as he gains, in games of chance, and in life. A damaged man in search of himself.

Headline Publishing Group


Number of Pages 368


'One thing will always stand out when it matters: the author's voice. And Farooki has one to be proud of' Independent on Sunday 'Farooki manages the emotional minefield with humour and compassion' The Times 'One of the brightest young British authors to have emerged in recent years' Bella 'Ms Farooki creates the strong suspicion that she could tell a story about any type of people' New York Times